The Ugly Made Beautiful

Perfection is a matter of perspective.

I used to be a producing artist. Art was my life.  (Now I am a non-producing artist) Anyway,  I always ended up with the pieces that ‘weren’t good enough to sell’.

Now, years later, as I look at them in my home, I see them with different eyes. Funny thing…. I can’t for the life of me figure out what I thought was wrong with them in the first place.

Time has given me a whole different view of perfection.

Isn’t that just the way it goes? We are so terribly critical of our own  writing, work, body, …. You name it. And yet, we tend to see more good in others and the things they do.

The reason is that we are looking with different, less judging eyes.

It took a long time for me to see those pieces as perfect works of creativity. And, It was all a matter of perspective. Nothing changed about the pieces. As time went on, my focus changed.

And suddenly, the ugly was made beautiful.

_________________________________________________Dina Dove

As an author, inspirational speaker, and coach, I am dedicated to helping people remember who they really are at their deepest core and discover their unique path to career and personal fulfillment.

For further information, please contact me at Dina@BagladysGuide.com

www.dinadove.com

http://www.facebook.com/BagladysGuide

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

8 Responses to “The Ugly Made Beautiful”

  1. Don Purdum Says:

    That is such a GREAT point!!!! Time and experience have a way of changing our perspective.

  2. Darlene Willman Says:

    Amazing isn’t it? Over time we look at everything differently. I tend to see the positive aspects and learn from them. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Kathy Hadley Says:

    Exactly! And this works in all areas not just “things”. That is why I wrote the post “Change your perception, change your world”. Even past events will have a different meaning to you when you change your current day perceptions. It is VERY FREEING!!!

    🙂

    Thank you for another great post and reminder.

    🙂

    Kathy
    kathyhadleylifecoach.com

    P.S. I LOVE YOUR ART, YOUR BOOK and YOU!!!

  4. Susan Tolles (@susantolles) Says:

    You are so right! We are our own worst critics, and perfectionism is one of the things that holds most of us back from experiencing greater success and happiness in life. I teach my clients “Perfect is the enemy of great!” It’s too bad that it takes so long for us to realize that. Wonderful post!

  5. authorangelachristinaarcher Says:

    Awesome post and point! Last Christmas my daughter was sad that her gingerbread house didn’t look perfect like the one on the box. I finally convinced her it didn’t matter. Perfection is for a box and who wants to live in a box? 🙂

    • dinadove Says:

      I love your comment. I’ve never heard anything like that before. “Perfection is for a box and who wants to live in a box? ” And it is so true.

Leave a Reply

