Planting Forgiveness

Several years ago, I had a really big issue. Six close business associates turned their backs on me. These people had been my friends and I felt extremely betrayed. Even then I knew the power of forgiveness but, I just couldn’t do it. Because I couldn’t forgive, I couldn’t move forward. So I had an inner struggle going on as well.

 I’ve spoken about the fact that making a habit takes about 21days. And…. I sure needed to change my bad habit of focusing on my hurt. So I lined up 6 mugs in my kitchen window and planted a tiny plant in each one, knowing that it would take a good deal of attention to make them grow. And… that it would take at least 21 days.

The first day I forced myself pray for blessings for those 6 people. Each day after that I associated my love and good wishes for the health of each person’s plant with good thoughts toward the person that plant represented.

The plants flourished and my forgiveness and ability to move ahead also happened.  6 weeks later, spring had arrived and I planted them in my garden where they remain all these years later. And you know, even to this day, when I see them out there, I lovingly remember their association to those six people.

___________________________________________________________________Dina Dove

As an author, inspirational speaker, and coach, I am dedicated to helping people remember who they really are at their deepest core and discover their unique path to career and personal fulfillment.

For further information, please contact me at Dina@BagladysGuide.com

www.dinadove.com

www.facebook.com/BagladysGuide.com

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

14 Responses to “Planting Forgiveness”

  1. Bonnie McSpadden Says:

    What a sweet and precious idea! I love the practicality of giving yourself time while you allowed yourself to use something beautiful to create an intentionality around the process of learning to forgive. Thanks for sharing!

    • dinadove Says:

      Bonnie, knowing that forgiveness is the key to happiness, my anger was harming me. Most of the time, forgiving is not so difficult when you know the score. But when it’s a challenge, the plants really do help keep the focus in a positive way.

  2. Kathy Hadley Says:

    Forgiveness is key to your own success, so it is great that you found a way to work it out for yourself.

    🙂

    Kathy
    kathyhadleylifecoach.com

  3. Rekha Says:

    Forgiving actually is in our own self-interest. It helps us be a better person. Nice read it was. 🙂

  4. Holly Higbee-Jansen Says:

    Beautiful way to forgive by giving life to something else. Thanks!

  5. pamela hodges Says:

    I love this. There are a few people in my life I need to forgive. It appears that I need to pray for them and plant a seed to remind me to pray. Thank you. 🙂

    • dinadove Says:

      Pamela,
      The plants are the best way I ever found to remind me to keep my thoughts positive for those who I believe have done me wrong.
      Thanks for commenting.

  6. Beth Camp Says:

    I liked this story not only for the strength it took to actually forgive those six people, but for the very real information on what it takes to change — persistence AND commitment. Well done! Beth http://bethandwriting.blogspot.com

  7. weiselcantlin2 Says:

    What a great idea. Thank you for sharing. I believe forgiveness is so important. In the long run, we are not hurting the people we have not forgiven, we are only hurting ourselves.

    Missy Bell
    http://www.PeaceAndHappinessProject.Blogspot.com
    Facebook: Words That Touch Your Heart

  8. kleebanks Says:

    Thank you for this moving story and great idea! It’s so easy to forget that any negativity we allow in our lives only hurts us and holds us back. Very often the people we hold bad feelings toward have no idea, so we really are only hurting ourselves and not some how “punishing” them!

Leave a Reply

