Recognizing the Gifts

Isn’t it true? Most of us live our lives forward and understand the meaning of them only when looking back.

While I was spending years railing at God for keeping me trapped in a life I hated, he was giving me multiple avenues out. I didn’t notice. I was too busy being sure that it was going to look a certain way. My way.

In my mind, when I exited my living hell, I would be debt-free, all my facilities leases would be at their ends, and all my company’s ongoing catalog contracts would be completed. On top of that, I would have a nice nest egg and my employees would all be perfectly taken care of.

Immediately this reminds me of the saying, “If you want to make God laugh, tell him your plans.”

Now in the retrospect of my mind, He wasn’t laughing. God was just looking at me with compassion, moving His head gently back and forth thinking, “Dina, Dina, Dina…”

It took a long time. I got the ball bat to the head over and over because I was so dense as to not see all the gifts that were being laid at my feet; gifts I walked over as if they were nothing… because the wrapping paper was all wrong.

To use the gift analogy, I was so sure that my gift would be wrapped in red paper with gold ribbon. Instead, I was continually given beautiful royal blue packages with metallic silver ribbon. Because they looked so different, I kept refusing to accept them.  And all along, the blue box was the answer to my dreams.

Now looking back, I can see that the Universe had a much better plan all along, but I was blinded by my own ideas.

I’m smarter now, my experience has taught me to change.  I have learned to live life consciously while moving forward, accepting all my gifts as I go.

________________________________________________________       Dina Dove_______

As an author, inspirational speaker, and coach, I am dedicated to helping people remember who they really are at their deepest core and discover their unique path to career and personal fulfillment.

For further information, please contact me at Dina@BagladysGuide.com

www.dinadove.com

www.facebook.com/BagladysGuide

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Recognizing the Gifts”

  1. Liz Who Motivates Says:

    Dina what a great story and pleasant reminder.

Leave a Reply

