Wake Up and Taste some Freedom

Whatever the albatross around your neck… is it worth it?

Have you ever thought about what you would be willing to trade your things for? …Or say goodbye to that career you don’t like?

Would you trade them for happiness?

Would you trade them for freedom?

I often find, as I council people on living their dreams, that their “things” (and their fear of giving them up)  are the main obstacle in achieving the life that would ‘make their heart sing.’ Their souls long for the dream and yet they are willing to give it up to hold onto the statis quo.

We all do this to a certain extent. But, think about it for a minute.

Didn’t you buy those “things” and pursue that career because you thought they would make you happy?

And now?

Are they actually making you happy or….. are they a barrier to happiness? Real happiness.

Are you loaded down in debt for things you would, if allowed to choose, sacrifice in a moment if you knew you could have that DREAM?

Choose the dream! Find a way to unburden your life of the “things” you now know were a substitute for the ‘real happiness.’

Think for a moment how it would feel to be rid of the burden; free to live the life of your dreams.

Be creative. Instead of saying “I can’t have the life I want”, ask a different question.

Ask, “How could I change my life so that I can live the one I really want?”

And magically, your life will change. Real happiness is there, on the horizon. You’ve only to see it with new eyes and a new perspective.

If you could use some coaching on moving toward a more fulfilled life and taking the steps to a new found freedom, contact me at dina@bagladysguide.com

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

9 Responses to “Wake Up and Taste some Freedom”

  1. Claudia Neely Says:

    Love the advice to give up on baggage that holds ya back! As I work with clients it is easy to encourage my clients, and forget to encourage myself! Thank you for the timely advice!

    • dinadove Says:

      Claudia, Thank you for your thoughtful comment. It’s true, if we point our focus inward, we all have a few things in our life that we could let go of.
      Dina

  2. loacoach2 Says:

    So true, so true, so true. I say this all the time….they only reason anyone wants anything is that they believe that in the having of “it” they will be happy. The shortcut is to just be happy. 🙂

    Kathy
    http://kathyhadleylifecoach.com

  3. Deb Dutilh Says:

    Oh, this really resonates with me! I have found immense freedom in not having stuff to take care of, maintain and schlep. However, at I downsized so much at one point when relocating back to Los Angeles with only a few possessions that I felt as if I had left behind a big part of my identity. The biggest albatross though is the one that comes from being loaded down with regret debt and never learning where to stow it. Who wants to regret not having lived their dream because they had too much stuff?

    Thanks for a great post!

    • dinadove Says:

      Deb, Thanks for your great comment. You had the moxey to move forward. And, you overcame your feeling of initial loss and moved forward. Good for you.
      Blessings, Dina

  4. Susan Evans (@SusanCEvans) Says:

    I’m actually living the life of my dreams right now. I’m doing what I love and I’m able to stay home with my kids. I’m grateful that I don’t have to work at a job that might make my life miserable.

    • dinadove Says:

      Susan, I could tell. You feel powerful in your decisions. People who home school have empowered themselves to raise their kids in the way that makes them feel in control. You are not sitting by hoping for the best. You’re making life the best you can. I applaude you. The greatest gift you can give to mankind is to raise healthy, happy and responsible children. God bless you.
      Dina

  5. Living the dream | Mackel9's Blog Says:

    […] Wake Up and Taste some Freedom (dinadove.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

