A Chiropractor’s Wisdom

There all many teachers on the way giving us hints that will eventually lead us to discovering the great truths of the Universe.

Old Dr. Saylor was a chiropractor in a small town in Missouri. As he was helping me with my aches and pains, he had gently been teaching me some of the mysteries of the human body, by showing me how even minor things have an effect.

One day as he looked at my posture and then at my shoes. He said, “Let me try something.” As I stood there in my stocking feet, he had me hold my arm out straight and told me to hold it with all my strength. Then he had me put on my shoes. Again he had me hold out the arm and as he pressed down I seemed to have no strength to hold it up.

Then he put 2 little risers under the heels of my shoes and again asked me to hold my arm up. My arm held strong. With that he said, “Dina, your whole body is stronger when you wear shoes with a little more heel than in these you have on today.”

Being the skeptic that I am, I told him I did not think I was trying as hard to keep my arm strong before and insisted we do the test over. And again, my arm went weak without the extra lift under my feet.

Dr. Saylor sent me on my way. And even though what had happened seemed quite curious to me. I let it go. Quite some time later in our doctor patient relationship, he showed me something else. That time, as I was laying on the table, he was telling me how important it was to keep a positive state of mind. He told me to hold my leg strong and tested that strength. Then he said, “Now, I want you to think of something that makes you really happy.” Once I held the thought in mind, he tried to pull my leg down. It held tight.

Then he said, “Now think of something that makes you unhappy.” You guessed it. My muscle was weak. And…….. You’re right. I made him repeat it. It was hard to believe that just a thought could alter my body’s strength.

It was a small thing, but I never forgot it. At the time, understanding the way thought affects the body, much less the universe, had no frame of reference for me.

That was over 20 years ago. (How time flies.) Looking back I realize that his small enlightening moments with me set me on a path of self discovery that has shown me so much more. Our thoughts create our reality in the world. They are the beginning of what manifests either health and well being, or a life less joyful.

Finally, we are not the victims of unrelated circumstances. Instead, our thoughts and the way we approach life, are the cause of the world/life we see before us.

 
  External Links
Leave a Reply

