The Symbols In Everyday Life

Have you ever thought of how much memories play a part in your reactions to things you encounter in daily life?

It’s winter here in Kansas and there are red coats all over the place. To me, a red coat is so much more than a coat. To me, every red coat is a symbol of how much my dad loves me.

You see, my dad supported our family of seven on a butcher’s salary. I was the oldest child and there was no money to pay for higher education. The year before I went away to school, I saved enough to pay for my first year college. I’d also been buying most of my own clothes since I’d gotten my first job when I was 14.

During the early fall, I came home one weekend and went shopping for a coat. I found the most wonderful red wool parka, but it was $25, a huge sum for me at that time. When I got home from the mall, I couldn’t stop talking about it. At some point in the conversation mom said, “Why don’t you go over to your dad’s store and see if he will buy it for you?”

This was so out of the ordinary. We got $2.00 a week for lunch money all thru high school. Other than that, we worked and paid for our own things. But on that day, my dad pulled out his billfold and handed me $25.00.

It was very special and to this day, I see dad in every red coat I pass.

And did you know that no matter how bad you may look on a particular day, a little lipstick will make a big difference?

Mom and I were doing a big construction project and decided to go over to the cafe to grab lunch. We had paint splatters all over us and I thought nothing would improve the way we looked. Regardless of that, mom insisted on putting on her lipstick. I was laughing and telling her it would be a futile gesture.

I didn’t pay attention until we were sitting across the table from each other and then the joke was on me.

Lipstick really does make a difference.

Even when you’re having a really bad day,  put on lipstick, it’s worth the effort. Every time I put on lipstick I think of mom.

By now you are wondering how on earth the word “plethora” ties in with this article. Anytime I see that word I think of Jennifer Brubaker. It’s one of her favorite words. The other day I saw it on a banner for, of all things, Monster Energy Drinks. Forget about the banner, all I could think of was Jennifer, even though we haven’t spoken in over a year. I picked up my cell phone and called her right then and there, all because of a word.

Red coats, lipstick and plethora…. They’re just a few reminders of love, humor, family and friendship.

Look around you.
Be aware.
There are symbols of love everywhere.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “The Symbols In Everyday Life”

  1. ctepfer Says:

    This is a great article Dina. I agree with what you are saying, quite interesting. For me, one of the weird associations that I make has to do with McDonald’s chicken mcnuggets. Whenever I was down as a kid, that’s where I would go and what I would order. Not the best food in the world, but the experience always seemed to make me feel better. To this day, when I get really stressed, I find myself still going to McD’s, and ordering up chicken mcnuggets with french fries! List goes on for many of us, obviously, but that’s the one that comes to mind the most.

    Other unusual one is that my advisor over the phone reminds me exactly of you, as she sounds identical over the phone. It’s downright weird to know that I’m talking to a Japanese lady, but I could swear it was you on the other end! It’s that soft spoken, detailed way about her that I think gets me. Have a great day.

    Chad

Leave a Reply

