This Could be Heaven

Yesterday, on my way to a seminar in Chicago, I drove all day thru Illinois. What a glorious day it was.  And… I have never seen so many corn fields in my entire life. Gorgeous, lush, green fields of corn covered almost the entire state.  Nestled among them, were pristine, white farm houses and out buildings in the subtle roll of the earth’s terrain.  WOW! What a site to behold.

It brought me back to the memory of watching Field of Dreams several years ago. In the film, famous baseball players from ages gone by appeared to play on the ball diamond made in a cornfield. There was one line in the show that struck me over and over as I drove.  One of the players asked the owner of the field, “Is this heaven?”

The beauty put me in a state of mind that made me feel the same way that baseball player must have felt. We live on an amazingly beautiful planet, in a country where anything is possible for our lives if we put our energy into it. And I realized… in a way, it is heaven.

Today, in Chicago, I couldn’t shake the feeling that all we need to do is to see our lives and our surroundings with new eyes; Eyes that see the magnificence of it all. The human body, the trees, birds, the planet, the love shared among friends are all pretty awesome. 

Heaven is a state of mind available to us every minute. How about this minute, right now? How about choosing heaven.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

