A Love Letter to Barnes Jewish Hospital & Washington U Medical

Sounds ridiculous, right? 

What kind of nut would write a love letter to a hospital for heaven sake?

Six months ago I would agree with those comments. That was before I was diagnosed with rectal cancer. CANCER! 

In my life I can’t think of anything that would scare me more than that word.

  My doctor in Joplin, MO told me the news. And in the next breath he said he wanted to send me to Barnes for further treatment.

From the moment I got connected to the doctors associated with the hospital, I was taken under the wing of a healing organization that has continued to amaze me at every step.

The first day I arrived in Dr. James Fleshman’s office, I was called in right on time. He decided that surgery was needed. While I was in the office, he assessed that Dr. Steven Hunt was the right surgeon for me.

They conferred and within minutes he had a date scheduled. There were several more tests I would need and their office made the appointments one right after another on that same day. I walked down the hall for a CT scan.

As soon as that was done I was sent to another appointment for pre-surgery blood work. Then in for an EKG. I had taken my laptop along with me, expecting to have a long day of waiting. I never sat in any office or waiting room long enough to even open it up.  

The entire facility ran like a well oiled machine. And then again, not like a machine at all. The kindness, courtesy and professionalism of absolutely every person I encountered were exceptional. The facility was spotlessly clean and beautifully designed. I have to say that it seemed more like a fine hotel than a hospital complex.

I came back about 10 days later for surgery and had the same great experience then. Remember, I had cancer. Cancer and a great experience don’t seem like they would ever be uttered in the same sentence.

But, quite frankly, I was so blown away by every aspect of Barnes that it inspired such confidence. I was sure I was getting the best possible care, the best possible chance to return to health. 

Surgery was successful and I’m out of the woods for the time being. I’ve not stopped talking about Barnes Jewish Hospital and how impressed I am. It’s a 5 hour drive from southeast Kansas to St. Louis, and yet I am so sold on your organization that I will continue all my treatment with you.  It is so worth the trip.

In closing, thank you sincerely for the excellence of your organization and the genuine caring spirit of the entire staff.  I continually see commercial where patients talk about the Cancer Treatment Centers of America.  I tell everyone I should do a commercial for you.

Dina Dove, author

dina@bagladysguide.com

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

