Blog, blog, blog

 

I must admit that all my proposed blog posts have to go thru Sandy first, but she can’t do anything on this until she get’s through a major event for her husband’s ministry with the Archbishop. I wonder if the Archbishop realizes that he is messing up the daily, all important ramblings of the middle aged. Anyway, Sandy can correct my grammar and make me presentable. Hahahaha (I know in the world of the internet LOL is more correct) but……. In my world ahahahaahah is more to the truth. See, I also misspell that. Why? Because I just start pounding back and forth on the ‘h’ and ‘a’ with my only 2 typing fingers. (The index finger on each hand)

 

Now that gives me something to talk about today. Coming of age in the 60s.  For all you younger girls, back in those days when we got out of school we became teachers, secretaries and mothers.  I wanted to guarantee that I would never become a secretary. I did that by never learning to type.  After I got married my husband and I were too busy building an empire to become parents. Teacher…….. well, that was what I started college to become. 

 

Actually a teacher is what we all are in the end.  It’s only now as I write this that I see clearly how true it is. Throughout our lives we are teaching all the time. By our actions we are teaching people what kind of person we are and who we think they are. And by our reactions and we are teaching people how we are willing to be treated.

 

Could the results of our lives come down to just that one word?  Teaching? 

 

Have a blessed day,

Dina

 

 

Hey Dina,

 

Sandy here.  So I survived another event that seemed like it was going to throw me right over the edge.  It all came off without a glitch, close to 100 people for Vespers, a nice steak dinner and a presentation about the new concept for teaching the teachers in our Archdiocesan schools.  Pretty lofty goals, lots of very generous people and in the end we all enjoyed ourselves.  Now that wasn’t the case at 4:30, when I’d just arrived home with all 5 kids from school, tried to figure out what they’d all eat under our 13 year olds command, thought now I’ve got just enough time for a quick shower and get dressed only to find out we hadn’t printed the 100 handouts (8 pages each!) yet.  I’m supposed to be at the event looking spiffy mind you by 5:30.   So the printer takes forever, I get John and Grace, 13 and 11 lined up to do the stapling, throw the Stouffers mini meatloafs into the microwave and then get my usual 13 minutes to shower, find something to wear and head out the door with 800 pages of Vespers, my camera which I of course left in the car and various other items I was responsible for.  Arrive to find that the Archbishop hasn’t been asked to sign the certificates we are presenting to some of our participants, so I get a chance to visit with him while he has to give me his autograph 30 times.  He’s most interested in hearing the latest antics about our kids and their sports etc.  We have a nice chat pretending that we aren’t under the gun and may be late for our own big event.

 

So life returns today to my more normal chaos.  The usual things pulling at my attention, our bills to pay, Mike’s company’s bills to pay, my dad’s bills to pay, reviewing the after school schedule for who has soccer practice, baseball practice or other commitments.  Then I do a bit of my favorite work on the Baglady site and read your latest blog. What am I going to teach my kids today by what I say and do?  After yesterday’s insanity, I need to spend some eye to eye time with each of them to check in and see what’s happening in their worlds.  It’s so easy to let days pass without doing this.  My littlest angel, Teresa, is at the precious age of 5.  She waited up last night so we could snuggle and read a story.  She’s a night owl like her mother, so it works out great.

 

Talk with you soon,

 Sandy

Leave a Reply

